Two Southeast Asian countries join the US Visa Waiver Program

Đặng Mỹ Miều
Content Editor
08:00:28 - October 21, 2022

With a strict visa policy, only 41 countries are currently on the US visa-free list, including two Southeast Asian countries (Brunei and Singapore).

The US Visa Waiver Program (VWP) allows citizens of 41 countries and territories to enter the US for business or tourism with a 90-day visa-free stay and vice versa.

Specifically, the list of citizens of 41 countries and territories that are exempt from visas by the US, including European countries Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK.

the US visa-free list
Brunei is located on the north coast of the island of Borneo in Southeast Asia (source: Christopher Larson)

Chile and Canada are two countries in the Americas that do not require visas to enter the US. Asia-Pacific countries and territories, including Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan, Japan, and South Korea, and two Southeast Asian countries, Brunei and Singapore, join the program.

However, citizens of the above 41 countries need to fill out a valid electronic application (ESTA) for a travel permit. This permit is valid for two years. Foreign visitors must apply for a new one if they change their passport, their name, etc.

Because Vietnam does not participate in the US Visa Waiver Program, citizens need visa approval. Vietnam provides electronic visas for US tourists. According to data from the National Administration of Tourism, there were nearly 74,000 US visitors to Vietnam in the first 9 months of the year, ranking after South Korea.

Two Southeast Asian countries join the US Visa Waiver Program


The requirement was accepted, please check your email for the document.