Taiwan clarifies visa-free list

Như Lê
08:00:49 - September 13, 2022

Taiwan confirmed that citizens of Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, the Philippines, Japan and South Korea who are not eligible for visa-free entry will be reinstated on September 12.

Accordingly, the Bureau of Consular Affairs of Taiwan clarified this issue after the press reported that ASEAN countries were on the visa-free list. They are currently on the suspended list until further notice. Other countries on the temporarily suspended list are Chile, the Dominican Republic, Israel, Nicaragua, and Russia.

Taiwan maintains entry and quarantine rules as most Asian countries relax their rules.  However, Taiwan cut the mandatory quarantine for arrivals from 7 to 3 days in June. Upon arrival, all travelers entering the country are required to undergo a PCR test.

Taiwan said that the decision to continue visa-free entry of citizens from some countries is based on the fact that most countries have reopened their borders. This move demonstrates the need to balance measures to control the COVID-19 epidemic with the need to stimulate economic recovery.

The Bureau of Consular Affairs also publishes a list of nationalities eligible for visa-free travel. The length of stay varies depending on the country, but 90 days is the maximum. Citizens of ASEAN countries will be able to stay for 30 days under the visa-free program when the suspension ends.

The Taipei Representative Office in Singapore said: “A press release on the adjustment of border control measures issued on Monday (September 5) has been misunderstood. Some media and the public misunderstand that from September 12, Singaporeans can enter Taiwan without a visa.”

Taiwan clarifies visa-free list


The requirement was accepted, please check your email for the document.